When will I have time to write?

On Thanksgiving weekend I was all excited to start my day afresh, to spend all day writing and editing my book, when I realized that my homework has a deadline, but my book…does not.

That’s something many writers can relate to, the big question of, “When will I have time to write?” When, between the deadlines that seem as tangible as the keyboard beneath your fingers, will you have time to write? You need to hand your work in to your boss on time. You need to submit your assignment to your teacher on time. Your friends or your kids or your loved ones expect you to be somewhere at a certain time, and you want to be there. But you also want, and need, to write. Why? Because you’re a writer.

So when will you write?

Just do it. Nike had it right. Just do it. Just sit down and do it. Even for 5 minutes – and you’ll feel the difference! Once you’re writing again, you’ll light up inside and suddenly you won’t be asking, “When will I have time to write?” Instead, you’ll be writing.

And when a deadline is looming or you feel too busy, let this be your inspiration:

“Don’t say you don’t have enough time. You have exactly the same number of hours per day that were given to Helen Keller, Pasteur, Michaelangelo, Mother Teresa, Leonardo da Vinci, Thomas Jefferson, and Albert Einstein.” – H. Jackson Brown Jr.

One thought on “When will I have time to write?

Leave a Reply

