How would you describe a day like this?

October 26, 2013. It’s windy, cloudy and raining outside here in Toronto, Ontario. What a perfect day for writing a scary, sad or a depressing scene for your book. If you want to be really adventurous, you can write a romantic scene as well, I guess.

How would you describe a day like this? The best way is to go out and experience it first hand. And that is what I did this morning. I went out and stood in my backyard and this is what I heard and saw.

Raindrops pitter pattered against the walls of my house and against every other object in my backyard. What are they saying to each other as they fall? I wondered.

The rustling sounds created from the wind riffling through the leaves and the grass danced to my ears. How peaceful the sound is, I thought.

Tiny murky globules streamed down on the leaves of my cherry tree but only to bounce back up and then land on the luscious green blades of the grass. Finally they’ve reached their new home, I concluded.

The leaves swayed, the grass blades danced and every now and then the rain droplets cascading down changed their direction to accommodate the wind rushing through.

I realised I wasn’t alone in the backyard. There was the rain, the wind, the sparrows huddled up under the roof, and the squirrels peeking out from the hole in my neighbour’s tree, waiting for the rain to stop so they could go and look for their first meal of the day.

How would you describe a day like this?

One thought on “How would you describe a day like this?

  1. What a gorgeous description. “I realised I wasn’t alone in the back yard. There was the rain, the wind, the sparrows huddled up under the roof, and the squirrels peeking out from the hole in my neighbour’s tree, waiting for the rain to stop so they could go and look for their first meal of the day.”

    You really do take your inspiration from the natural world!

    I love rainy days. I love sitting under a blanket and listening to the rain patter through the broad-leaved plants outside the window. It’s immensely relaxing and helps me focused. No bright sun to poke its luminous fingers in, urging me to get up and go. Just that quick little song and a cool breeze.

    I guess we’re both getting lots of work done today! 🙂

Leave a Reply

